Are You Green With Envy?

Written by: Stoic Taco

On May 20th 2011, a video was uploaded to YouTube by the official GreenWithEnvyMovie channel.

That video was the first trailer for the new film starring Jason Segal, Amy Adams, and Chris Cooper. Love struck meets star struck when a small town couple head to Hollywood and discover their dreams of hitting the big time may cost them the one thing that matters most — each other.

Not exactly the most interesting or original story in the world right?

It gets better. Oh boy, does it get better. Watch it now and keep an eye open at the 51 second mark.

See, I told you.

What an absolutely awesome way to announce the arrival of one of the most anticipated films this year. A film that is sure to have everyone’s inner kid running wild!

I know mine is! Every time I watch that trailer it makes me feel a kid again!

In this Digital Age where Twitter and Facebook make it really hard to keep anything under wraps, Disney Pictures managed to surprise everyone with the #Greenwithenvy campaign. Everyone knew that the Muppets trailer was showing with the new Pirates movie but it was nowhere to be found online. This was really strange given that it’s normally where most of us will look for a new trailer. Still nowhere to be found.

I think it was Slash Film that made the announcement first via Twitter that The Muppets teaser trailer was up and when I clicked on the link I found a film called Green with Envy. I tolerated the somewhat clichéd beginning of the trailer, strangely starring the main cast of The Muppets film and it still didn’t click what I was watching…that was until the 51 second mark when my brain exploded and I was left sitting there with the goofiest grin I’ve had in quite a while.

Subscribe to the GreenwithEnvy YouTube Channel, show your support of a great marketing campaign, and watch then re-watch the trailer…currently 869, 988 views in 4 days.

Not bad huh?

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a comment